We are a 50-person architectural firm located in Denver, Colorado. For over 40 years we have provided a full range of services including the planning, programming, and design of buildings for colleges, universities, schools, libraries, justice facilities, office buildings, cultural venues, and housing. We have twice been awarded the American Institute of Architects' Firm Award for "a distinguished body of work" and numerous local, regional and national design awards.

We believe architecture has the power to heighten human well-being and illuminate our cultural values. We are driven by a standard of excellence which provides the highest level of ethics and professionalism to our clients. We embrace thoughtful and responsible design in all aspects of our lives and we constantly strive to create buildings of architectural significance and responsibility.

Our work is developed within a collaborative atmosphere which cultivates research, analysis, and deliberation into judicious decision-making at all levels. Vigorous exploration of client goals is coupled with a detailed examination of their functional needs. This understanding is artfully transformed into three-dimensional space which inspires the daily life within the building. Physical patterns and the cultural fabric of each place are carefully studied to appropriately respond to each site's unique physical and social context. Materials and systems are selected which respect and sustain our planet and the thoughtful expression of building craft and technology are economically integrated to bring the defining statement of character and identity for each of our clients.

Paul S. Haack, AIA
Andrew G. Nielsen, FAIA
David C. Pfeifer, AIA
Joey Carrasquillo, AIA
John D. Graham, AIA

John D. Anderson, FAIA 1926-2017
Ronald L. Mason, FAIA Emeritus
Curt F. Dale, FAIA 1945-2003

Cathy Bellem, AIA
Ben Blanchard, AIA
John Everin, AIA
Erin Hillhouse, AIA
David E. Houston, AIA
James R. Taylor, AIA

Dan Bishop, AIA
Peter Koehler, AIA
Pamela J. Loomis, SDA/C
Ryan Lutz, AIA
Kristin O'Connell, Assoc AIA
Jenna Michieli, AIA
Suzanne Minear, AIA
Cynthia Ottenbrite, AIA
Charlotte Stapleton
Todd Swarts, AIA
Kristina Winn, AIA
Julie Zurakowski, AIA
3198 Speer Boulevard
Denver Colorado 80211

303 294 9448
fax 303 294 0762


The primary goal of this project was to build an addition to the Center for Technology and Learning Media (CTLM) building to house the computing center functions currently located in the Green Center. Since the CTLM building is operated as a satellite facility of the Computer Center, this project centralizes high technology and campus computing functions in a single location, thus yielding operational efficiencies.

While the new building essentially replicates the current spaces in the Green Center (in terms of function and overall size), a goal for CTLM II was to give the computing center and its personnel an identifiable and cohesive departmental home.

Another goal for the addition was to make it functionally and visually an extension of the current CTLM building. Users within the two buildings now feel as if the two buildings are one, and easily traverse between the two. CTLM II has its own identity and does not merely copy the architectural language of the original building.

The exterior treatment of CTLM II takes its clues and direction from CTLM, as well as the larger campus surroundings. The building looks related to CTLM, yet has a character of its own.

Center for Technology and Learning Media II