We are a 50-person architectural firm located in Denver, Colorado. For over 40 years we have provided a full range of services including the planning, programming, and design of buildings for colleges, universities, schools, libraries, justice facilities, office buildings, cultural venues, and housing. We have twice been awarded the American Institute of Architects' Firm Award for "a distinguished body of work" and numerous local, regional and national design awards.

We believe architecture has the power to heighten human well-being and illuminate our cultural values. We are driven by a standard of excellence which provides the highest level of ethics and professionalism to our clients. We embrace thoughtful and responsible design in all aspects of our lives and we constantly strive to create buildings of architectural significance and responsibility.

Our work is developed within a collaborative atmosphere which cultivates research, analysis, and deliberation into judicious decision-making at all levels. Vigorous exploration of client goals is coupled with a detailed examination of their functional needs. This understanding is artfully transformed into three-dimensional space which inspires the daily life within the building. Physical patterns and the cultural fabric of each place are carefully studied to appropriately respond to each site's unique physical and social context. Materials and systems are selected which respect and sustain our planet and the thoughtful expression of building craft and technology are economically integrated to bring the defining statement of character and identity for each of our clients.

Paul S. Haack, AIA
Andrew G. Nielsen, FAIA
David C. Pfeifer, AIA
Joey Carrasquillo, AIA
John D. Graham, AIA

John D. Anderson, FAIA 1926-2017
Ronald L. Mason, FAIA Emeritus
Curt F. Dale, FAIA 1945-2003

Cathy Bellem, AIA
Ben Blanchard, AIA
John Everin, AIA
Erin Hillhouse, AIA
David E. Houston, AIA
James R. Taylor, AIA

Dan Bishop, AIA
Peter Koehler, AIA
Pamela J. Loomis, SDA/C
Ryan Lutz, AIA
Kristin O'Connell, Assoc AIA
Jenna Michieli, AIA
Suzanne Minear, AIA
Cynthia Ottenbrite, AIA
Charlotte Stapleton
Todd Swarts, AIA
Kristina Winn, AIA
Julie Zurakowski, AIA
3198 Speer Boulevard
Denver Colorado 80211

303 294 9448
fax 303 294 0762


Colorado State University's Computer Science Building is located at the epicenter of the student district of campus. It is a project which attempts to profoundly shape the district it sits within. To achieve this goal, the project employs a few key concepts. The building ground floor fluidly links a student plaza with a significant pedestrian artery leading to the historic section of campus, thereby connecting these two important campus precincts. A glassy public spine space abuts the student plaza, providing a strong edge to the formerly ill-defined plaza and a shared view to the Rocky Mountains beyond.

The project consists primarily of computer labs and offices for the Computer Science Department. A portion of the project is dedicated to the recently formed Information Systems Technology Center which promotes cross-disciplinary work among faculty and students from different departments who are examining computer-related issues.

The building incorporates a number of sustainable measures that specifically focus on reducing energy consumption. Key sustainable features include exterior sunshades, interior supply air delivered under the floor rather than from the ceiling, and indirect evaporative cooling. In all, the building incorporates 26 sustainability initiatives and is designed in the spirit of the US Green Building Council's LEED Certification program.

Computer Science Building