We are a 50-person architectural firm located in Denver, Colorado. For over 40 years we have provided a full range of services including the planning, programming, and design of buildings for colleges, universities, schools, libraries, justice facilities, office buildings, cultural venues, and housing. We have twice been awarded the American Institute of Architects' Firm Award for "a distinguished body of work" and numerous local, regional and national design awards.

We believe architecture has the power to heighten human well-being and illuminate our cultural values. We are driven by a standard of excellence which provides the highest level of ethics and professionalism to our clients. We embrace thoughtful and responsible design in all aspects of our lives and we constantly strive to create buildings of architectural significance and responsibility.

Our work is developed within a collaborative atmosphere which cultivates research, analysis, and deliberation into judicious decision-making at all levels. Vigorous exploration of client goals is coupled with a detailed examination of their functional needs. This understanding is artfully transformed into three-dimensional space which inspires the daily life within the building. Physical patterns and the cultural fabric of each place are carefully studied to appropriately respond to each site's unique physical and social context. Materials and systems are selected which respect and sustain our planet and the thoughtful expression of building craft and technology are economically integrated to bring the defining statement of character and identity for each of our clients.

Paul S. Haack, AIA
Andrew G. Nielsen, FAIA
David C. Pfeifer, AIA
Joey Carrasquillo, AIA
John D. Graham, AIA

John D. Anderson, FAIA 1926-2017
Ronald L. Mason, FAIA Emeritus
Curt F. Dale, FAIA 1945-2003

Cathy Bellem, AIA
Ben Blanchard, AIA
John Everin, AIA
Erin Hillhouse, AIA
David E. Houston, AIA
James R. Taylor, AIA

Dan Bishop, AIA
Peter Koehler, AIA
Pamela J. Loomis, SDA/C
Ryan Lutz, AIA
Kristin O'Connell, Assoc AIA
Jenna Michieli, AIA
Suzanne Minear, AIA
Cynthia Ottenbrite, AIA
Charlotte Stapleton
Todd Swarts, AIA
Kristina Winn, AIA
Julie Zurakowski, AIA
3198 Speer Boulevard
Denver Colorado 80211

303 294 9448
fax 303 294 0762


The conceptual design for the new Central Library for Laramie County evolved out of a series of public meetings and focus group sessions aimed at establishing the aspirations of the Laramie County community. As the Architect of Record, AMD led public meetings during the site selection process to clarify the unique character of the City of Cheyenne.

As a capital city, it has a strong urban and civic character, yet its people embrace the wide open spaces of the surrounding landscape. There was significant sentiment towards reinforcing the civic role of a downtown library, while capturing the opportunities of a less urban site. Because the site is on the seam between the downtown and residential areas, sensitivity to the neighborhood was essential. The basic form of the building is a simple, flexible brick box for books and reading overlaid by curved forms that respond to the site and mark unique functional aspects of the library.

AMD performed extensive energy modeling on a variety of operations to allow for energy-efficient and cost-effective systems and solutions. Sustainable design strategies employed include improved lighting and daylighting systems; energy efficient mechanical systems; high performance glazing; recycled materials; low VOC adhesives and sealants; and a waste management program. A pioneering achievement, the Laramie County Library was the first public project in Wyoming to receive LEED Gold certification.

Laramie County Central Library